Humility

Just returned from Vancouver for Cystic Fibrosis Canada’s Annual General Meeting and it has taken me this long to wrap my brain around the thoughts firing through my brain.  It’s funny how often times the things that have the most impact on my life I have such as hard time finding the words to describe said impact.

I have written a lot lately about letting go of ego and I learned many, many valuable lessons this weekend.  Don’t worry, my ego didn’t show up, it’s not that obnoxious – I was surrounded by people that have been fighting for this cause for decades… so my ego was checked at the door.  My ego (and the rest of me) learned probably one of the most powerful lessons “we” will ever learn… what humility looks like.

Every person I met asked how I was connected to Cystic Fibrosis and almost without exception, I was humbled by their stories.  The vibrant and animated elderly couple who have been involved with Cystic Fibrosis for 40 years – who have a double-lung-transplant recipient CF son.  The determined and hard working mama who has 2 sons with CF… The tiny woman with the kindest eyes and sweetest smile with the well-worn picture in her wallet… her son had lost his battle and still she fights – fights to find a cure that won’t bring her baby back….  now that’s humility.

And so it went – the whole weekend I encountered these wonderful open-hearted individuals.  Then, just in case I wasn’t “getting it” the Universe gave me one more dose of humility.  The Chair of Cystic Fibrosis Canada, Debra Berlet, was given Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.  She had no idea that she would be receiving this award and her shock and dismay was so endearing.  Later, when I was congratulating her – she was dismissive – not in a ungrateful way – the work she does comes naturally to her.  She said, as we were holding the award “This is Rowan, this is my kids, this is everyone’s kids – this is all because of them….”  One more time for the folks at home – HUMILITY.

16 thoughts on “Humility

  1. well said Kelly… well said. Thank you for sharing your experience. People who cheerlead along side us as we put on the fight of our lives for our children are the BIGGEST heros ever! Humility, gratitude, and immense love surrounds this journey that we’ve been chosen to undertake. Sometimes, it feels like we are so completely blessed that it’s hard to come to terms with the competing feelings inside…
    So glad you are involved with the foundation, doing so will be the best way to get through the good and bad days!

  2. You know it was a great event when youa re still processing it days later! Humility can be such a hear thing to learn, glad you took so much away from your weekend!

  3. I often think how lucky I am that my daughter is healthy and strong — and I want to cry with gratitude, for her, for me, for those I love. When I get upset, when I get dissatisfied, when I feel grumpy… I remember how much blessed I am and I want to cry again… out of shame for my greed.
    You are heros, and you remind us to be humble.

  4. Thanks for sharing this story. I’m very conscious of coming from my higher self vs coming from the ego, and its stories like these that are great reminders as to why its so important.

  5. Your posts always “ground” me and put things into perspective for me. You are a wonderfuly brilliant and compassionate woman. Great things will happen for you Kelly as you live your life with your hear on your sleeve. Glad you had a great time on your excursion to Vancouver – and brought home more strength!

  6. Powerful!! We have often talked about children picking their parents. I really think these amazing parents you speak of were chosen by their children who knew they were the right ones to make a difference in the world.

    So glad you had a good time away and got to meet such amazing people who are on the same journey as you. I hope one day we all can celebrate the cure together ❤

Leave a Reply

