Those Who Matter Won’t Mind…

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”
– Theodore Seuss Giesel
 I have been thinking about authenticity so much lately.  Having been a “people pleaser” for most of my life I have been enjoying the liberation that comes with gaining the self-respect to just accept that you can’t please everyone!  Why would you want to please everyone? How exhuasting!­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Trust me, it is exhausting!
From time to time I still find myself sliding down that slippery slope… I am particularly attracted to really charasmatic but negative people, the tortured artist, the confident on the outside but soft and squishy and vulnerable on the inside…  Historically, myself and individuals with these characteristics are like “moths to flames” – we slam together in a disgusting display of self-depracating/co-dependency where I am left apologizing constantly for my positive outlook on life and consequent good fortune.  My heart gets broken – I love hard – I trust hard – I believe that when I talk these friends down from their proverbial ledges at 3:00 in the morning that they are actually going to do what they say they are going to do…. they don’t… and somehow I was left holding the bag and feeling responsible for their happiness and then I would shut these people out of my life in a cruel and cowardly fashion… blech.  It makes me feel yucky to just type about it.
So, what’s my point? My point is it’s SOOOOOO much more fulfilling to spend time, energy, love on the people that DESERVE it and that will RETURN it.  It’s so much easier to do that – maybe that’s why I resisted it in the past because it just was too goddamn easy…. As we come to the end of the month or this new year just take stock of  who you want to focus your loving energy on… and don’t forget about YOURSELF!
One thought on “Those Who Matter Won’t Mind…

Leave a Reply

