Tell That Worry to Eff Off!

Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, but only saps today of its strength.”
– A. J. Cronin

I tell ya’ if I had a dollar for everytime my “Quote Of The Day” e-mail was so on-point… well I wouldn’t be suffering in these sub-arctic Canadian temperatures – I would at least have enough money for a tropical vacation!

That quote is so, so, sooooooo true!  So, so, sooooo much easier said than done.  I am a woman, I am a mother, I am a third generation worrier.  I come by it so very, very, honestly.  Seriously, if there was a “Worry Olympics” my dear grandmother would be a world champion 10 billion times over.  She worries so excessively that it makes me see how ridiculous worrying is.  I mean, my Grandfather was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s 18 years ago (a diagnosis which turned out to be incorrect) and she has been stressing out ever since about what he would wear in his casket!  Where does this leave me?  With a tremendous dose of perspective but still a ridiculous genetically pre-disposed penchant for worry.

In the past, I liked to play a little game like “What’s the worst that could happen?” and for instance when my husband was un-employed for 9 months after my second child was born and things were starting to look a little bleak on the financial front the worst that could happen was that we sell everything, move in with my parents and start all over again.  Not bad for the worst thing that could happen (my husband was not as flippant about moving in with the in-laws, lol).  However, that game becomes much less fun to play when your child suffers from a progressive, degenerative, chronic illness…. I don’t think I need to explain what the “worst” is in that situation.

In the past 2 years I have come to the realization that the only way to avoid worry is to be in the moment as much as you can be…. that of course is easier when the people I spend most of my time with are toddlers and they do nothing but LIVE in the MOMENT!  It makes it easier, especially with Rowan’s condition, it makes life fuller, it really does make everyday much more rewarding… so just try it – just a little – when worry starts nagging – tell it to eff off!  Tell it that it doesn’t change anything, it doesn’t control you and you don’t control it… write it down and flush it down the toilet and go LIVE!

Leave a Reply

