Oh For Five Cents!

Less than stellar moment…today I lost my shit over some raspberries, yep, you heard me right raspberries…You see, as a work-from-home mortgage broker I sometimes need to make very important phone calls and sometimes it is imperative that I not have any interruptions so I try my best to set the girls up so that they will be distracted by a t.v. show, a craft, a colouring book… for the duration of the phone call.  Today, whilst on the phone none of the distractions worked and the girls decided to have a tea party…. I could hear them in the dishwasher and the drawers pulling out placemats and cutlery… what I didn’t hear was the cupboard and the fridge open… by the time I was off the phone the kitchen floor was covered in raisins and my raspberries had been mashed up in the bottom of a couple of coffee cups….

I won’t repeat what I said (a few things may have sounded like “cheese and crackers” and “for five cents” and a huge ridiculous rant about how expensive raspberries are and what a treat they are to have this time of year, and blah, blah, blah)… it seems silly now when I think about it being raspberries… it just sucks when you feel like a 2 1/2 year old and a 5 year old have got your number… when you feel outnumbered.  It also sucks when your 5 year old proceeds to take a piece of fake fruit – an orange in fact – and cover it with citrus flavoured lip balm (thanks for that birthday gift Gramma)… she was so pleased that it now smelled like a real orange – always a realist that one! Again, the yelling, the ranting the carrying on… the frustration… it has been so long since my oldest has been such a handful.

Then, during one of the lectures I have a little conversation with said 5 year old that went a little something like this:

“Mama, I have something to tell you”

“Sigh, what is that”

“I drank some of your coffee”

“how much?????”

“the rest of it, sorry Mama”

Well, that explains that…

Start em' young!

3 thoughts on “Oh For Five Cents!

Leave a Reply

