Shhhh, please, please, please, SHHHHHH!!!!

Ahhhhh, Can't you just imagine sitting there ALONE!!!

We are having some serious bedtime issues around here and the biggest obstacle that this creates is that I have no time to myself whatsoever.  I am a crusty, grouchy mess of a woman this morning – because I want some peace and quiet!  I love my little chatterboxes to bits and pieces but today – right now- every time they speak to me I cringe a little.  It is taking all of my Big Girl “I’m a grown-up” energy to not scream “SHUT-UP! LEAVE ME ALONE” and storm off to my room!  I cannot promise that this won’t happen as I am feeling this way and it is only 10 a.m. but I will try my best!

The only solution I have for this is to re-evaluate my “to-do” list and get the “Must-to-do””s done right away and just let the rest of the day un-fold.  Historically I have been quite fatalistic about this suffocated feeling but I am learning to close my eyes, take a deep breath, and also just be honest with my kids.  It’s okay to say “I need a minute to myself”…. you’re not telling your kid “I don’t want to be with you” – you are teaching them boundaries and self-respect.  And, let’s be honest, saying, “I need a minute to myself” will mess your kids up a lot less than if you say what is running through your head!

I NEED solitude to just hit the pause button. It is the only time of day when I don’t have a running list of things to do, and I think about what I WANT for myself and my family, or, I don’t think at all and I watch crappy, indulgent, reality shows like “Real Housewives of ….. (insert State here) or America’s Next Top Model – what an escape!  This  has always been after bedtime… but not for about 3 weeks now….

What are your “stolen moments” about?  How do you get them? How do you feel without them?

Leave a Reply

