To Drive Or Not To Drive?

“After a day’s walk everything has twice its usual value.” ~George Macauley Trevelyan

As I have mentioned before – I was in a car accident at the beginning of June and wrote-off our vehicle. We got just enough money from the insurance company to pay-off the loan and decided that we would get rid of a payment once and for all and pay cash for a car. Well, just got back from another afternoon of running errands on foot…. pushing a double chariot stroller (for a grand total of about 80 pounds) and loving every minute of it! I love that the girls want to listen to the same songs over and over again (The Lion Sleeps Tonight and Single Ladies top the list right now) but that’s okay just keeps me movin’.

Whenever my husband and I talk about buying a new car a little sadness and dread creeps into my tummy – I don’t want this to end. It’s like this perfect little snapshot of my girls at these amazing ages of discovery and self-expression that I am so blessed the Universe slowed me down so I wouldn’t miss it! I feel like getting another vehicle will close that chapter and I’m sure the next one will be just as incredible but I am not ready to let go just yet. Furthermore, not even my 4 1/2 year old wants to get a car “I love walking mama”. I’d like to believe that I would keep up all of this walking and biking before the snow flies even if we bought a car right now – but then you have a sleepless night, get crunched for time…. excuses, excuses.

The other truth of the matter is that I have become MUCH more efficient.. when you have to add a walk or a bike ride to your travel time you just plan a little more. Snacks and diaper bag packed before bedtime. Clients called first thing in the morning before you head out to run errands (what should take an hour takes 3 – you can’t walk passed a playground without playing!). Most importantly, I have just relaxed and gained perspective…. there is very little that happens in my life that should cause me stress so great and quite frankly I was always just in a big hurry to get to the same place anyway. Never has “it’s the journey – not the destination” made so much sense!

Came across this quote too and the answer became clear:

“Now shall I walk
or shall I ride?
“Ride,” Pleasure said:
“Walk,” Joy replied.
~W.H. Davies”

I think I’ll wait until the snow is so deep that even those ginormous stroller wheels get stuck!

Leave a Reply

