A Funny Thing Happened At The Gym Today…..

“We have to dare to be ourselves, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.”
— May Sarton

Selling has GOT to be the hardest job in the world (maybe next to raising babies of course)… One reason for that, I think, is that people are tired of being inundated with the hard sell, with pressure tactics and misleading bonuses. A funny thing happened at the gym today – while I was grabbing a quick workout at the Dawe Centre while Reese was in her swimming lesson – a seemingly nice lady started talking to me while we were on the ellipticals. No less than 60 seconds into our conversation she started trying to sell me essential oils… and explaining to me that I might like to sell essential oils too! Are you kidding? Did I not just say that I was a work-from-home mom/mortgage broker? Did she hear I am a work-from-home-but-still-have-plenty-of-time-for-something-else-mom/mortgage broker? I tried my best to give her a bit of my time… .I know we are all trying our best to make our way in this world but the kicker for me was when she had samples with her – at the gym – a little weird – right? Needless to say, I was sure regretting that I had forgot my MP3 player! Notwithstanding the fact that I did tell her that I didn’t have much time and just wanted to get my workout in, she did proceed to follow me around the gym giving me her card – asking for mine – thereby ruining what could possibly be the only 40 minutes I would have to myself all day L

At the end of the day I really believe that the most effective sales tools are AUTHENTICITY, SINCERITY, APPROACHABILITY, in short – YOURSELF! If you have to follow people around during their personal self-improvement time…. you’re doing something wrong! If you try to emulate what you think a salesperson might do or what selling something looks like – people wonder what seems “off” about you – and then wonder if you can be trusted. I have found being straight up 100% myself has resulted in some really amazing personal and professional relationships – some that might have seemed unlikely. You might not get ALL of the sales because not everyone is going to connect with you but what will start happening is your business will become so much easier to grow as you attract customers to YOU and they refer people to YOU.

Does anyone else have something to add? Any amusing sales stories? Would love to hear them!

One thought on “A Funny Thing Happened At The Gym Today…..

  1. Wow! That approach is way to pushy. Regardless of what kind of business a person has, if someone says no thanks, please respect that. It just may turn nasty because you can only say it politely so many ways!

    I had a fellow try to sell me a magazine subscription today for a “fraction of the retail cost plus I would get 4 free magazines” why would I pass up such a deal? I had to say no 3 times!!!

Leave a Reply

