Happy Accident

On the 2nd of June I was in a car accident – it was my fault – I was embarrassed, angry at myself, relieved that the girls weren’t with me but the truth is I knew it was coming… I had been getting little signs along the way that I needed to slow down. At first, I thought it was the final message “I told you to slow down and you didn’t so now I will crash your car”. A couple of days ago, I learned the real lesson behind the need to slow down.
Given the fact that my vehicle was written-off my husband and I chose to use this opportunity to get rid of a vehicle payment and buy me a nice little car with cash…. while we are saving up this cash I am a-walkin’! So, myself and my 2 little girls have been walking or riding bikes to the grocery store, the splash park, to friends’ houses. I have been renting a car when the work I need to get done outside our home piles up and it is working out not too bad.
While walking to the splash park for the second day in a row my 4 year old and I were having the most amazing conversation and I realized that we don’t talk like this in the car or at home or anywhere else for that matter – what a shame. On the way home from the splash park my 2 year old kept stopping to smell the Alberta Roses and I couldn’t help but smile. I’ll be honest with you… when we walked past the scene of my accident I didn’t feel regret or anger or embarrassment…. I felt GRATITUDE. Turns out I was supposed to slow down not because my car was in danger but I was in danger of missing too much with these 2 little kids. That they will grow up before I know it and be teeenagers who would be completely appalled about walking downtown with me and more interested in the latest adaptation of iPhone than smelling any kind of plant! I’ll take it! While I might not be able to grow my business at the pace that I would love (I’m a go-big or go-home kind of gal)….. I get chance after chance to do that….. there are no do-overs with raising your kids! Happy Accident indeed!

I have always loved this poem by David L. Weatherford – it’s a perfect fit for how I am feeling now!

Have you ever watched kids on a merry-go-round,
or listened to rain slapping the ground?
Ever followed a butterfly’s erratic flight,
or gazed at the sun fading into the night?
You better slow down, don’t dance so fast,
time is short, the music won’t last.
Do you run through each day on the fly,
when you ask “How are you?”, do you hear the reply?
When the day is done, do you lie in your bed,
with the next hundred chores running through your head?
You better slow down, don’t dance so fast,
time is short, the music won’t last.
Ever told your child, we’ll do it tomorrow,
and in your haste, not see his sorrow?
Ever lost touch, let a friendship die,
’cause you never had time to call and say hi?
You better slow down, don’t dance so fast,
time is short, the music won’t last.
When you run so fast to get somewhere,
you miss half the fun of getting there.
When you worry and hurry through your day,
it’s like an unopened gift thrown away.
Life isn’t a race, so take it slower,
hear the music before your song is over.

Leave a Reply

